CookEatShare также доступен на языке: English


Bookmark and Share

Gelatin is flavorless and colorless, and if you dissolve it in a hot liquid, the liquid will gel as it cools. When reheated, say in your mouth, the gel melts. Most of us know gelatin as the key ingredient in the quivering dessert we call Jell-O®, but cooks also use it to make cheesecakes, mousses, marshmallows, meringues, chiffon pies, ice cream, nougats, aspics, and many other things. Gelatin will break down if exposed to the enzymes of certain raw fruits, like kiwi fruit, papayas, pineapple, peaches, mangos, guavas, and figs. Cooking these fruits, though, destroys the enzymes. If you plan to add these fruits to a gelatin salad, it's often easiest to buy them in cans, for all canned fruit is pre-cooked. Gelatin is made from the bones, skins, hooves, and connective tissue of animals, including pigs, so it's objectionable to vegetarians and members of certain religions. Kosher gelatins are available, and some of these are also vegetarian.

Средний: 0/5

0 голосов

click hearts to rate
0 отзывов
1 комментарий

Также известен как

  • Animal jelly
  • Gelatine
  • Unflavored gelatin
  • Unflavored gelatine


One envelope of plain granulated gelatin = 1/4 ounce = 1 tablespoon, enough to gel two cups liquid. 4 sheets leaf gelatin = 1 envelope granulated gelatin = 1 tablespoon granulated gelatin

Можно заменить

agar (A good choice for vegetarians.) OR guar gum OR carrageen OR arrowroot
How good does this ingredient look to you?
roll over hearts and click to rate


  • John Smith
    06 февраля 2010
    Some students opine that creating the <a href="">comparison essay writing</a> can be not very hard, however I claim that only the distinguished quality writing services will create the custom research papers of great quality.

    Leave a review or comment

    • Текущий рейтинг: 0
    click hearts to rate